One of the highlights of the local sporting calendar takes place next Thursday evening with the annual Sports Awards organised by Sport Tynedale and sponsored by Egger (UK) Ltd at Queen Elizabeth High School, Hexham.

This year's event on December 7, hosted by former British athlete Allison Curbishley, starts at 6.30pm.

The Awards Committee have drawn up a short list in each category from the high number of nominations received for participants of all ages in a wide variety of sports. The winners will be announced on the evening from the following shortlisted contenders:

Youth Team of the Year - Haltwhistle 3v3 Football Team, Hexham Juve U13 Football Team, Hexham Rowing Club J15 Double Sculls, Kielder Kestrels Windsurfing Team, Prudhoe Youth Club U11 Ospreys Football Team, Tynedale Cricket Club U19 Tornadoes Team, Tynedale Harriers U15 Cross Country Team, Tynedale Cricket Club U15 Team, Tynedale Rugby Club U15 Team

Key Stage 2 (Up to U11) - Ponteland Community Primary School, Sele First School, Slaley First School

Key Stage 3 (Up to U14) - Ovingham Middle School U12 Boys Football Team

Key Stage 4 (Up to U18) - Prudhoe Community High School U15 Football Team, QEHS Inter Girls Cross Country Team, QEHS KS5 Swimming Team

Young Volunteer of the Year - Keira Chilton, Ella Martin Dobson, Chloe Hutchinson, Megan Napier

Disabled Sports Player - Edward Common, Joe Green

Young Sportswoman of the Year - Lucy Dodd, Katie Melville, Charlotte Naughton, Erikka Rayson, Jess Sails, Katie Sanderson, Amelie Scott

Young Sportsman of the Year - Will Ainsley, Guy Bloomer, Will Carr, Archie Fletcher, Owen Forbes, Toby Kidd, Ciaran Lally, Will Marrow, Magnus Riddell, Matthew Roe, Charlie Swarbrook, Leonardo De Santis

Adult Team of the Year - Corbridge Cricket Club 1st XI, Haydon Bridge Cricket Club, Hexham Squash Club 3rd Team, One Life Triathlon Mixed Relay Team, One Life Triathlon V40 Women's Relay Team, Tynedale Cricket Club 1st XI

Club of the Year - Castle Tri, Corbridge Cricket Club, One Life Triathlon, Prudhoe Netball Club

Sports Personality of the Year - Matthew Dennis, Duncan Graham, Ian Stanton, Jayne Stanton

Coach of the Year - Ian Callendar, Charlie Cooke, Amanda Fletcher, Andrew Neal, Annabelle Scullion, Mark Seymour, Ellie Tiffin, Henry Wilkie-Smith, Peter Venus

Adult Sportsman of the Year - Ben Brunton, Chris Fenwick, Barry Jameson, Darren Towart

Adult Sportswoman of the Year - Andrea Banks, Francesca Bell, Jeannie Brady

Egger (UK) Ltd Services to Sport 'Unsung Hero' - Will Carr, Brian Coates, Katy Colmer, Leonardo De Santis, Charlotte Naughton, Erikka Rayson, Magnus Riddell, Mark Todhunter, Freya Walsh

In addition, the recipient of the Stan Calvert 'NFU Mutual' Scholarship of £600 will be announced on the night, along with recipients of a Sport Tynedale Development Grant. The champion from all junior category winners will receive the Ian Turner Trophy and the champion from all adult category winners will receive the Tynedale Trophy.