A former England all-rounder was the guest speaker at the O'Neill Richmonds West Tyne Senior Cricket League's 72nd Annual Dinner.

Derek Pringle delivered an interesting account of his cricketing journey to the 120-strong audience at the awards evening held at the Tynedale Function Suite in Hexham last Friday.

The former England cricketer played in 30 Test matches and 44 One Day Internationals between 1982 and 1993 and played in the England loss against Pakistan in the 1992 World Cup final. 

He made his debut for Essex in 1978 at the age of 19 and enjoyed a successful 15-year career in first-class cricket, scoring 9,243 runs and taking 761 wickets. These figures include 695 runs and 70 wickets in Test matches, and he was first chosen by England in 1982 whilst still captain of Cambridge University.

Pringle was a member of the most successful team in Essex's history playing alongside the likes of Graham Gooch, Mark Waugh, Nasser Hussain, and John Lever - winning the County Championship six times as well as numerous one-day competitions. He nominated Gooch as the best England batsman of his era.

Following his retirement at the end of the 1993 season he became a cricket journalist, initially with The Independent and then The Daily Telegraph. He now writes for Metro and The Cricket Paper.

League President Richard Burrow preceded Pringle with an entertaining account of his 60-year association with the West Tyne League which started in the early 1960's when he made his debut for Haltwhistle 2nd XI as a teenager.

Pringle then handed over the trophies to the season's award winners.

Pride of place went to Haydon Bridge who remained undefeated in all competitions and long-serving club captain Graeme Pigg received a rousing reception when being presented with the magnificent Division One Championship Trophy.

Haltwhistle, who only lost once, were crowned Division Two Champions for the second time in three seasons.

Haydon Bridge also won the Division One Knockout Cup, Allendale won the Division Two equivalent for the first time since 2005, while Haltwhistle won the Justsport T20 competition after beating Riding Mill in the final.

Newbrough picked up the umpires award for the club of the season.

The Steinberg Shield for most wicket-keeping victims in Division Two once again went to 18-year-old Olivia Ashburn (Medomsley) with an impressive 14 stumpings and 1 catch.

The Alan Graham Cup for most wicket-keeping victims in Division One was retained by Michael Cunningham (Haydon Bridge) with 16 catches and one stumping.

The Corbridge Cup for the best bowling average in Division Two went to Medomsley's Jordan Bell, who took 23 wickets at an average of 8.26.

The Telfer Cup for the best bowling average in Division One went to Haydon Bridge's Jamie Taylor, who took 25 wickets at an average of only 4.84.

The Douglas Smith Cup for the best batting average in Division Two went to Medomsley's Dan Johnson, who scored 500 runs at an average of 55.56.

The Division One equivalent for the Clayburn Memorial Cup was won by Hedley Renton (Humshaugh), who scored 544 runs at an average of 45.33.

The NatWest Trophy for the best individual bowling performance in Division Two went to Ramakrishna Bethanabatla (Riding Mill), who took a career-best 7-11 against Mitford.

The Manning Memorial Cup for the best individual bowling performance in Division One was retained by Haydon Bridge's Tom Waugh, who took 8 wickets for 14 runs in an amazing seven-over spell against Stamfordham.

The Jack Brewis Cup for the best individual batting performance in Division Two went to Dan Johnson (Medomsley), who scored 135 against Mitford.

The Wooding Cup for the best individual batting performance in Division One was won by Sheron Jansz (Belsay), who scored an outstanding 153 not out against Haltwhistle.

The Waite Cup for the best all-rounder in Division Two went to Michael Collins (Riding Mill) with 393 runs and 17 wickets, while the Division One equivalent was won by Riding Mill colleague Andy Watson with 325 runs and 26 wickets.

16-year-old Josh Wallace (Stamfordham) scored 438 runs and took 19 wickets to retain the Kathleen Waite Memorial Trophy for junior player of the year. Stocksfield, Tynedale A and Tynedale B couldn't be separated at the top of the West Tyne Junior U13 table, while the Hexham Courant Cup for the winners of the Quiz Competition was appropriately won by league sponsors O'Neill Richmonds.

Rounding off the evening's presentations, Haydon Bridge stalwart Ian Watson was a popular recipient of the Chairman's Trophy awarded by West Tyne League chairman Michael Baker.