Allendale Cricket Club’s record-breaking batsman Tim Raglan has been awarded the Northumberland and Tyneside League’s Players’ Player of the Year.

Raglan has been instrumental throughout a successful season for Allendale. Inside 17 games, he recorded an average of 107.07, scoring an overall 1,499 runs. Two 50s, three centuries and three double centuries all helped form a strike rate of 123.17.

The ambitious Allen Valleys club withdrew from the West Tyne League last year to join the Northumberland and Tyneside League, and were promoted from Division Four at the first time of asking.

The team was steered over the line towards the end of the season as a rampant Raglan scored 266 not out against Clara Vale on the final day of the league season, and followed it up with an innings of 206 in a play-off against Whitley Bay.

Elsewhere at the Northumberland and Tyneside Awards, held this month, Tynedale bowler Matthew Scott capped off a startling season by being crowned the Northumberland and Tyneside League Bowler of the Year.

In his first full season for Tynedale first XI, the 16-year-old picked up 38 league wickets at an impressive average of 11.68 as he led the seam attack throughout the season. He follows in the footsteps of club legends Ken Norton (1986) and Richard Darling (1994, 2003 and 2010) to pick up the prestigious award.

Scott also made his Northumberland debut versus Bedfordshire in the Minor Counties Cricket Championship and was voted Northumberland U17 player of the year.

Rising star Corey Dover was awarded for his first XI performances throughout the season for Corbridge by receiving the club’s Noel Dixon Award for most promising junior player before being awarded the 1XI batting award and the Jack Davidson Memorial Award for best performance for taking 8-25 against Alnmouth and Lesbury. He also scooped a president’s award for the performance as well as 5-18 against GEMS.

His dad, Andy, received a life member of the club for his contributions to the club over the years, and was also given a president’s award for his performance against Stocksfield when he took 5-9.