THERE is a new name on the Jelly Tea championship trophy.

Dominic Shaw scorched his way to victory in last weekend’s Tynedale Jelly Tea 10 Mile Road Race in a time of 00:52:07.

The New Marske Harrier denied last year’s winner Jordan Bell, of Blackhill Bounders, from retaining his crown as Bell finished down in fourth place by posting a time of 00:54:31.

Conrad Franks, of Gateshead Harriers, was runner-up last year but was demoted to third spot in 2019 as his time of 00:53:54 saw him finish behind second placed Nick Samuels, of Sale Harriers, whose trip from Greater Manchester paid off as he crossed the line in 00:52:39.

Allendale resident Cees van der Land, who runs for Tyne Bridge Harriers, claimed a top 10 finish as his time of 00:59:25 earned him 10th position.

It saw him second fastest in the 40-44 age category, behind Sunderland Harrier Ian Dixon (00:57:46) and just ahead of Elvet Striders’ Mark Kearney (00:59:27).

Finishing as fastest finisher for host club Tynedale Harriers, John O’Reilly impressed by finishing in 21st overall.

His time of 01:02:02 saw him clinch victory in the 55-59 category, ahead of Ian Norman (01:03:47), of Heaton Harriers.

Heaton teammate Danielle Smythe took the honour of fastest female by crossing the line in a winning time of 01:02:48, which saw her finish 25th overall.

Hannah Wood, of Low Fell RC, was next up in a time of 01:05:28, with Amy Fuller, of Elswick Harriers, in third with a time of 01:07:29.

Jeannie Brady was Tynedale’s only female representative and claimed 71st position overall by crossing the line in 01:10:43.

Andrew Yarnold represented Allendale-based Allen Valley Striders and was 91st with a time of 01:13:49.

Stocksfield Striders were well-represented on the day with Paul Humphreys (01:18:07), Simon Bright (01:19:02), Matthew Hardcastle (01:23:03), Daniel Gilholme (01:23:55), Tony Brown (01:25:16), Lyn Brown (01:28:39) and Heather Brown (01:48:59) all in action.

James Leiper (01:04:55) fought off the close attention of Ponteland Runners teammate Roland Brown (01:05:21) to count as the club’s first finisher.

They finished in 35th and 38th respectively.

Also making an appearance for Ponteland was Rob Charlton (01:22:58), David Buffham (01:24:44), Nicola Matthews (01:31:41) and Lauren Young (01:51:53).

July’s Tynedale10k attracted more than 300 runners and was won by Liam Taylor.