YOUNG athletes were given the chance to perform on the track and field at Gateshead International Stadium.

Scholars from across the district represented Tynedale in the Northumberland Schools Athletics Minors’ Championship.

And they finished third in the competition, behind overall winners North Tyneside, who lifted the Dunrosian Cup, and second placed Newcastle. North Northumberland were fourth, with East Northumberland in fifth.

In the 80m, Year 6 pupil Guy Bloomer won his heat, and went on to win the final, running both races in 11.4s.

In the 800m final, Tynedale’s Magnus Riddell was second with a time of 2:35.1.

In the 60m hurdles, Will Hunter Ainsley won his heat, while Charlie Shaw-Stone was second in his. Ainsley earned second place in the final with a time of 11.1s.

A jump of 3.92m in the Year 6 boys’ long jump earned third place for Ethan Sulliven. Tom Hymers won the high jump, reaching 1.31m.

Alex Martin’s effort of 43.41m earned him third place in the cricket ball (5oz) throw. In the girls’ contest, Amy Goodwin was a winner with a throw of 35.89m.

Katie Talbot in her Year 6 girls’ 80m heat. She finished third in the final with a time of 12.4s. Tynedale were dominant in the Year 6 800m final. Poppy Wild was the winner in 2:35.1, and Lucy Glenwright was third (2:40.5).

Livvi Clark-Jewitt was a heat winner in the 60m hurdles, while Maria Gaines was second. Clark-Jewitt was third in the final (12.2s).

Josh Harling was second in his Year 7 boys’ 100m heat, while Samuel Davison was third in his 200m final. Toby Dancer (2:29.2) was third in the 800m final. In the 75m hurdles final, Alex Nesbitt (14.9s) was the winner.

Josh Wallace was second in the 1kg discuss with a throw of 18.90m. Ellie Winter was runner-up in her Year 7 200m heat.

In the 800m final, Poppy Old (2:30.6) was victorious, while Tabitha Robson (5:34.6) was third in her 1,500m final.

Old was also on form in the long jump, winning with an effort of 4.04m.

In the discuss, Maya Lillico (17.45m) pipped her Tynedale teammate Rebecca Nicholson into third place. After finishing second in his heat, Russell Wilson (13.2s) was second in the Year 8 boys’ 100m final.

Sam Hindmarsh was third in his 300m heat. In the 800m final, Dan Lamb (2:26.2) was third.

There was double joy for Tynedale in the 80m hurdles, with James Walby (13.9s) first, and Charles Mason Tynedale (14.4s) second.

It was the same in the high jump. James Walsh (1.51m) was the winner, with Max Westan (1.48m) second.

In the triple jump, Joe Philipson (9.81) was second, as was Billy Murphy (30.92m) in the javelin.

In the Year 8 girls’ 75m hurdles, Lauren Campbell (13.2s) was the winner, as was Lauren Campbell (4.28m) in the long jump. There was a third place for Phoebe Skinner (14.94m) in the javelin, while in the discuss, Maddie Ineson (17.16m), and Eve Beechin Collins (17.01m), were second and third respectively.