IT’S the business end of the season for teams in the South Tyne Chess League.

Over 20 players from the league’s five clubs joined together for the annual Arthur Fulton Memorial Trophy, at the Haydonian Social Club, in Haydon Bridge.

The jamboree event has been held every year since shortly after the turn of the Millennium, in honour of Mr Fulton, a former league secretary and treasurer, who died in 2000.

The tournament was won by the Monarchs, of Corbridge. The four-player team, of Tim Wrigley, Alan Hiatt, Steve Larkin, and Dave Foster Jnr, finished with an impressive nine points from a possible 12. Foster Jnr won all three of his individual games.

The Angels, also of Corbridge, and Carlisle-based team the Austins, were joint second with six points, while host club and defending champions Haydon Bridge, were third with four points.

Haydon Bridge captain Ian Mackay won two and halved one of his three games, and it was a fitting way for him to step down as skipper, 20 years after first joining the club.

The jamboree brought the curtain down on what has been an eventful season for the South Tyne League. The league title was won by the Monarchs, after they won two and drew one of their final three matches to secure the championship.

It came after a final day win over their closest rivals, the Austins, with both teams locked together on points at the start of play.

After several postponements due to the unavailability, the crucial fixture finally took place at Haydonian Social Club in May, after Monarch’s joint-captain Dave Humphreys finally managed to field a full team of four.

Tim Wrigley gave the Monarchs a 1-0 lead, after getting the better of his opponent George Glover on board one.

Dave Foster levelled proceedings with a win over Bill Hardwick on board four.

Representing the Monarchs, David Wrigley was next to finish, after he defeated Bill Burgess on board two to make it 2-1.

On board three, Dave Humphreys earned a draw with John Lydon, and the overall 2.5 points gained on the night was enough to secure the league title. The individual board prize winners for the season were: Board one, Phil Walters (Haydon Bridge); board two, Ian Mackay (Haydon Bridge); board three, John Lydon (Austins); board four, Bill Hardwick (Austins). The South Tyne League is keen to promote chess, and to encourage more people to get involved.

New faces are welcome at league clubs, from accomplished players to complete beginners. Contact details can be found at