TYNEDALE Cricket Club began the New Year by reflecting on a memorable 2018 season, which saw several young players make a name for themselves in the first team.

A players’ evening saw trophies presented for achievements in various categories, before plans for the new campaign, which will get under way on Saturday, April 20, were discussed.

John Cant Trophy for most improved junior: James Percival - Much improved performances across junior and senior cricket with the ball.

U21 player of the year: Nathan Byerley - Second leading run scorer for the second XI.

Walter Henricks Trophy for best individual junior performance: Oliver Fletcher - 124 not out for the second team against Lanchester.

Frank Charlton Trophy for young player of the year: Sam Peter - A strong season for the first XI with bat and ball saw him make his Northumberland CCC debut aged 15, against Bedfordshire.

Evans Bowl Cup for fastest 50 runs scored: Euan Stephenson - In the first game of the season against Lintz, he scored 55 not out from 28 balls, with one four and seven sixes.

Hope Memorial Cup for best bowling average in league cricket: Ben Cuthbertson - 42 wickets at 10.26 in his first season at the club.

Second XI captain’s award: Paul Scandle - A fantastic season on the pitch and a great presence around the dressing room.

First XI captain’s award: Dan Parker - An impressive first season back at the club and a maiden 100. A tremendous character on and off the field.

U18 Durham Cricket Board Junior League (DCBJL) Mark Stoneman Cup: Tynedale U18.

Riccalton Trophy for most improved in senior cricket: Mathew Scott - In his first full season in senior cricket he went from second XI to first XI and finished the season opening the bowling as well as playing for Northumberland & Durham junior teams.

Tynedale Trophy for player of the year: Paul Scandle - 752 runs at 44.24. Six 50s and one century. 20 catches and one stumping.