THE new Labour MP for the Hexham constituency won the seat in a historic win for the party in the General Election.

The constituency has been a safe Conservative seat for the last century with Tory candidate Guy Opperman being Hexham's MP since 2010.

Joe Morris, Labour's candidate for the constituency, overturned a Tory majority on July 4 to become the first Labour MP for the area. Mr Morris received 23,988 votes, compared to Mr Opperman who won 20,275 in the vote count which took place at Blyth.

Labour MP Joe Morris with Prudhoe mayor Angie Scott on a Labour party campaignLabour MP Joe Morris with Prudhoe mayor Angie Scott on a Labour Party campaign (Image: The Labour Party)

Mr Morris said: "It's a huge honour to arrive at Westminster as the first ever Labour MP for the Hexham constituency. Now the hard work begins - delivering the change that people across the constituency voted for. I will work as hard as I can to represent all constituents, not just those who voted for me. It's a historic task and I can't wait to get started."

Mr Opperman told the Local Democracy Reporting Service after the election count that the Conservative's national performance had hindered their progress in the constituency.

Deputy leader of the Labour Party Angela Rayner with Northumberland County Council Labour leader Cllr Scott Dickinson and Angie Scott, Prudhoe's mayorDeputy leader of the Labour Party Angela Rayner, with Northumberland County Council Labour leader Cllr Scott Dickinson and Cllr Angie Scott, Prudhoe's mayor (Image: The Labour Party)

"Clearly, the national picture has not helped. It is very difficult," Mr Opperman said.

READ MORE: Mayor calls on Labour government to deliver vital improvements in region

“It’s been an extremely difficult time to be in Government. You can see that in France, and in Germany.

“You could have had the greatest leader anyone has ever known and they would be struggling. There have been difficulties along the way – that is regrettable.

“I congratulate my successor – he has got the greatest job in the world in the best constituency in the world. 

“Representing the Hexham constituency every single day is the proudest moment.”

Meanwhile, Green Party candidate Nick Morphet, a Northumberland county councillor, received 2,467 votes while former Newcastle city councillor Nick Cott received 2,376.

SDP leader and Corbridge Parish Council chairman, William Clouston, received 1,211 votes while independent candidate Chris Whaley won 1,211.

Prime Minister Keir Starmer posted a picture on X, formerly Twitter, of all returning and new Labour MPs in Westminster on July 8.

Hexham Town Councillor Penny Grennan, who stood as the Parliamentary candidate in 2019 said: "What an historic result. I congratulate Joe Morris and the members for running a truly impressive campaign and finally ousting the Tories from a seat they have held for over 100 years.

"2019 was a Brexit election, this one was about competence and trust. Labour can now consolidate its position and truly represent the people of Hexham Constituency and hold on to this seat going forward."

Hexham Courant readers reacted to the news on a Facebook post. Carol Shearer said she hopes Labour can 'turn things around' for the country, adding: "The hard-working people of Britain deserve better."

Joe Morris MP on an election campaign in Hexham's constituencyJoe Morris MP on an election campaign in Hexham's constituency (Image: The Labour Party)

Susan Perry said: "I’m delighted to see a young enthusiastic local lad has been elected. Congratulations Joe."

Jenny White commented: "Hopeful that we have a good young local lad who will do his best regardless of which party he belongs to."

Liberal Democrat town and county councillor, Suzanne Fairless-Aitken, said: "It was quite a night and for us Liberal Democrats nationally. Locally, it was an adrenaline-fuelled night at Blyth. Joe Morris was gracious in his speech thanking all candidates and I am looking forward to working with a local lad on Hexham's key issues as he has promised."

Hexham’s mayor, Derek Kennedy, said the town council will establish a 'strong working relationship' with the new MP.

“We thank Guy Opperman for his work and wish him well for the future. Congratulations to Joe Morris MP, Labour ran an energetic campaign and has achieved a historic victory," Mr Kennedy said.

"Three years ago, Hexham Town Council led the way in showing that this area does not have to be dominated by one political party. Independents and other political parties and groups worked together to take control and we have delivered so much working together.

"Hexham Town Council will look to establish a strong working relationship with the new MP. We have so much still to work on such as the redundant old bus station, the former police houses, social housing on the old middle school site and quality public services. I am optimistic for the future of Hexham."

Councillor Angie Scott, who represents Prudhoe North and is also Prudhoe mayor, said: “I am thrilled that Joe Morris has been elected as the first Labour MP for our constituency. He will be a fantastic advocate for the people of Prudhoe. We now have a Labour Mayor, Kim McGuinness, and a Labour MP. I hope next year there will be more Labour county councillors elected."

She added: "I will work with Joe and Kim to address the challenges we face in Prudhoe. I wish Joe every success."