CROWDS flocked to the Northumberland County Show as it made its return after a two-year break to Covid.

The show, which was this year held on Bank Holiday Friday (June 3), saw 30,000 people head to Bywell, near Stocksfield.

The family-friendly event this year coincided with the Queen's Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

New president of Tynedale Agricultural Society, David Carr, of Hexham, officially opened the show as the High Sheriff of Northumberland Col James Royds spoke of the achievements of Her Majesty the Queen. The Bishop of Berwick, Mark Wroe, blessed the show and the farmers, and there was a poignant minute’s silence to remember all those lost in the last two years. 

The big winner of the day was Steven O’Kane, a farm manager for Thor Atkinson of Plumpton, South Cumbria, and fiancée Helen who picked up JS Hubbucks Champion of Champions with Limousin Bull Upperffrydd Power - described as a "clear leader" by judge Scott Donaldson, auctioneer at Harrison and Hetherington, Carlise.

Hexham Courant:

Among the other front runners was Jeff Aiken, of Proctor’s Farm, Lancashire, winning the Overall Champion Sheep and reserve JS Hubbucks Champion of Champions, with his Texel gimmer.

The champions line-up also included dairy cattle, heavy horses, alpacas and for the first time, rabbits. 

Hexham Courant:

Hexham Courant:

In the Sage Wealth Management Light Horse section, twelve-year-old Milly Smith-Philipson, riding Lindeth Talisman, having won the BSPS 143cm Open Section Championship earlier, swept to victory in the Sage Wealth Management Supreme Light Horse Championship.


Farrier Competition Winners 2022

Best Shod: E16, Sophie Isaacs - Rodney Britton

Best Shod: E17 Kate Gofton – William Crozier

Rabbit Section Winners 2022

Best Rabbit in Show: Marten Seal – Glenna Ford

                               Runner Up - John Fletcher

Best Rex: Marten Seal – Glenna Ford

Best Fancy: Cole Sergant Polish REW

Best Fur: Satin John Fletcher

Best Lop: German Agouti Caroline Margeson

Best Junior: Polish REW Cole Sergant

Best Pet: Alex Hall with Truffle, the mini lop

Fergusons Transport Trade Stand Competition Winners 2022

Agricultural – judged by Mr Mark Bridgeman

1st Carrs Billington Agriculture Ltd

2nd Scot Agri

3rd CLA

Highly Commended: Ad Gefrin

Non-Agricultural Outdoor Trade Stand Winners – judged by Mark Wroe, Bishop of Berwick

1st Northumberland College

2nd David Dixon

3rd National Gamekeepers Education

Highly Commended: Here4Horses

Indoor Trade Stands – judged by Mrs Vanessa Beaumont and Mrs Gaynor Scandle

Food Tent

1st Mad Jam Lady

2nd The Travelling Spoon Brownies

Creative North

Special: Derek Ions Sticks


1st Ivy and Rigg, sustainable fashion

2nd Across the Pond Creations, handcrafted cheese/chopping boards

3rd Handmade by Tink, handmade children’s soaps

Highly Commended: Fieldhouse Pottery

Wrestling Results 2022


1st Elena Peacock

2nd Jacob Forwood

3rd Mikey Dalgleish

4th Hannah Timperon

5th Sophie Armstrong

6th Hudson Pattinson

7th Oscar Storey


1st Bobby Stewart

2nd Edward Youger

3rd Izzie Storey

4th Abbie Whiteford


1st Aaron Younger

2nd Daniel Coates

3rd Nathan Guy

4th Bobby Stewart

5th George Younger

U18yrs/10st Championship

1st Connor Wharton

2nd Jack Gibson

3rd Charlie Armstrong

4th Owen Marrs

5th Toby Vine

6th Jack Whiteford

6th Matthew Story


1st Thomas Gibson

2nd Matty Hodgson

3rd Aaron Younger

4th Vinnie Davidson

Ladies All Weights

1st Kate Armstrong

2nd Shannon Dalgleish

3rd Alice Bates

4th Rachael McCamish

5th Flora Scott-Harden

Ladies 10st

1st Shannon Dalgleish

2nd Rachel McCamish

3rd Flora Scott-Harden

Girls U15yrs

1st Abbie Whiteford

2nd Flora Scott-Harden

3rd Elena Peacock

4th Izzy Storey

5th Sophie Armstrong

6th Hannah Timperon

Men 12st

1st Jack Brown

2nd Thomas Evans

3rd John Harrington

4th Thomas Davidson

5th Archie Singer

Men 13.5St

1st Jack Brown

2nd Patrick Tucker

3rd John Harrington

4th Archie Singer

5th Thomas Wilson

6th Thomas Evans

7th Thomas Cowan

8th Matty Hodgson

Men All Weight

1st Thomas Gibson

2nd Ryan Armstrong

3rd Jack Brown

4th Mark Wharton

5th Thomas Davidson

6th Dan Duncan

7th Tom Ryder

8th Ben Blackburn

For more, visit the Northumberland County Show website at