A POPULAR football event is returning to Prudhoe Town Football Club in May.

Tynedale's biggest adult football tournament is set to return on Saturday, May 28.

Chris Reynolds, an organiser of the Prudhoe Super Cup, said the event is Tynedale's biggest adult seven-a-side football tournament.

Anyone can enter, including football teams, work colleagues, or friends.  

"It's been a massive success, and it's been going since 2012. All footballers are split into 14 teams, so we split the football club into two seven-a-side pitches." 

Previous winners include Prudhoe Town FC in 2018, Bubbles Car Wash in both 2017 and 2016, Hazon Hedgehogs in 2015, and Brevs Babes in 2012, the first year of the tournament.

READ MORE: Police called to car rally in town

READ MORE: Prudhoe Town FC announce total raised by charity match

"Each team has a squad of 10, so that's 140 footballers at the event, plus spectators," he said.

The full day event will start at 10am and end at 4pm. The event costs £60 per team to enter.

The final winning team will win the three foot tall winners cup, which they will keep until the 2023 tournament.

There is a 14 team limit, and Chris said the event is already fully booked, and there are even people on a waiting list.

Chris said: "It was stopped due to Covid but it's restarted now. It's the only adult tournament in the area. People come to watch, for the bar, and there's also food and it's in an enclosed space."

Group stages will be held before the knockout rounds. All games will be refereed, who have been announced as Connor Scott and Mark Baston. 

Chris said: "It's an action packed day of quality football, and the only adults' seven-a-side, one day event around."

He added: "The tournament gets a lot of interest. We could easily make it 20 plus teams, if we had the time and match officials."

This year's teams include Polish Eagles, Riding Mill FC, Baggaleys FC, Mill Army, Steely FC, Crawcrook Social FC, Mickley Social FC, Footy Gods and Dadbods, Prudhoe Halfway House FC, first winners of the tournament Brevs Babes, Prudhoe Development Reds, Chuff United, MNF, and Broons Badgers.