2020 has been a horrid year for most people due to the outbreak of coronavirus across the world, and it has been no different to sportspeople as action has been halted as a result of Covid-19.

Local cricketers were grateful for the reduced season they were allowed to play, however, and the senior teams at Tynedale took the most of the opportunity as they challenged for top honours.

With a full season not possible, the Northumberland and Tyneside League was split into more localised divisions, which only added to the needle in the fixtures.

Tynedale’s first team was placed in Division Three among Tyne Valley rivals Stocksfield and Corbridge.

Tynedale got off to an eye catching start as they thumped Consett by nine wickets on the opening day of the season in July.

This was followed up with a convincing three wicket victory away to Annfield Plain.

Then came the challenge of rivals Stocksfield who boasted two wins from two games at that point, too, and more than local bragging rights was up for grabs as the teams contested the inaugural Maurice Miller Trophy.

Tyne picked up the silverware, coming away with a four wicket victory and extending their lead at the top.

They remained on top form and defeated Ryton by three wickets after dismissing the hosts for just 99 runs, with a thumping 10 wicket demolition of Whickham coming next as Tynedale made it five wins from five.

The big winning margins kept coming and Tyne secured their place in the semi-finals knock-out by defeating Lintz by nine wickets.

With their place in the knock-outs already confirmed, they faced winless Corbridge on the last day of the league campaign. Guided by Joe Barber’s knock of 184, Corbridge pulled off a shock victory by a margin of 21 runs.

Tynedale recovered from the blow to book their place in the final as they made light work of Alnmouth & Lesbury in the semi-finals, winning by 87 runs.

They faced familiar opponents in the final and could not stop former Tynedale opening batsman John Meadows whose knock of 79 helped current club Swalwell to a comfortable 126 run victory and the overall title.