YOUNG politicians have been elected by their fellow pupils.

Votes have been counted in Northumberland’s annual Youth Cabinet and Youth Parliament elections.

Nearly 6,500 pupils between 11 and 18 voted in the elections – with 50 ballot boxes collected from schools and the votes counted at County Hall in Morpeth.

Successful candidates in the Northumberland Youth Cabinet election were Robbie Scott from the King Edward VI School in Morpeth; Archie Fyfe and Oliver Butts from Corbridge Middle School; Ojas Rajkumar from Ponteland High School; and Gracie Kate Dalgarno-Todd from Whytrig Community Middle School.

And elected to represent Northumberland in the UK Youth Parliament were Robbie Scott and Erin O’Brien from Astley Community High School in Seaton Delaval.