HEXHAM’S Conservative MP Guy Opperman has been elected for a fourth term, after a night which saw his party clinch a resounding victory across the country.

Mr Opperman increased his majority from 9,236 (2017) to 10,549.

He received 25,152 votes to keep the seat he has held since 2010, maintaining the Tory's stronghold in the area since 1924.

Labour's Penny Grennan received 14,603 votes, with Stephen Howse, of the Liberal Democrats, receiving 4,672 and Nick Morpeth, of the Green Party, 1,723.

Mr Opperman said he was delighted to hold the seat for five more years.

He said: “When I first got the job in 2010, I wanted to bring around real change and we look at the investment in our schools with rebuilds in Prudhoe, Ponteland and Hexham, and huge investments in Haydon Bridge and Haltwhistle.

“The unemployment figures have halved since 2010, and we have created and developed things like the flood farms to increase flood resilience in the Tyne Valley and the long term protection of the green belt.

“I hope I will continue to be a strong voice for Hexham in Westminster and a local champion for our region.”

Elsewhere in the region the Penrith and Border seat was won by Conservative, Neil Hudson, elected to replace Rory Stewart with an increased majority. 

Mr Hudson picked up 28,875 votes, up on Mr Stewart's 28,078 in 2017. 

Labour's Sarah Williams came in second with 10,356 votes, which was down on the 12,168 won by Lola McEvoy in the last election. 

Picking up third place was Matt Severn of the Liberal Democrats on 5,364 votes, which was up on the 3,641 Neil Hughes won two years ago.

Ai Ross of the Green Party won 2,159 votes, which was more than double the number won by her predecessor Doug Lawson in 2017.

Putting Cumbria First's Jonathan Davies won 1,070 votes in last place.

The Conservatives won the Labour stronghold of Durham North West with Laura Pidcock (18,846), viewed by many as the Labour party's future leader, losing her seat to Richard Holden (19,990).

Nationally, Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said he would not lead a future campaign, and the Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson lost her seat to the SNP.