A NEW academy trust has brought together nine Tyne Valley schools for the first time.

The Tyne Community Learning Trust officially launched on October 24, bringing together Prudhoe Community High School, Highfield Middle School, Ovingham Middle School, Prudhoe Castle First School, Mickley First School, Broomley First School, Whittonstall First School, Ovingham C of E First School, and Wylam First School.

The trust’s chief executive officer, Alice Witherow, said the feedback to the new trust had been positive.

Alice said: “I’ve had very positive interactions from parents since I’ve been in post, they’ve been very supportive. Staff are welcoming the opportunity to meet with colleagues from different schools.

“I think being in a trust gives an opportunity to have seamless transition between the schools. It also allows staff to come together and learn from each other.

“I think it gives us the opportunity to think about what our needs are in this area. We can respond at a more local level.”

Coun. Wayne Daley, cabinet member for children’s services at Northumberland County Council said: “As a council we work positively with learning trusts right across the county. We look forward to working with the newly formed Tyne Community Learning Trust to further our aim of ensuring top quality education for all children.”